Diocese

Diocesan Staff

There are a number of staff who carry out diocesan-wide roles. A number of these are based at 1 Colmore Row which is the offices of both diocesan and cathedral staff.

The Church of England
1 Colmore Row
Birmingham
B3 2BJ

Download a map of how to find us by clicking here.

Other staff with diocesan-wide roles are based at Bishop's Croft and Balsall Heath Church Centre as well as those based in parishes all over the Diocese.

Here's a list of people along with their contact details and the role they carry out. You can also search for people, roles and places by visiting our Directory.


Bishops, Senior Clergy and Staff

Bishop of Birmingham
The Rt Revd David Urquhart
Bishop's Croft, Old Church Road,
Harborne, Birmingham B17 0BG

Chaplain: The Revd Kate Stowe
T: 0121 427 1163
E: BishopsChaplain@cofebirmingham.com

Secretary: Mary Rose
T: 0121 427 1163
E: MaryR@cofebirmingham.com


Bishop of Aston 
The Rt Revd Anne Hollinghurst
The Church of England, 1 Colmore Row, Birmingham B3 2BJ

Support Officer: Nicola Booth
T: 0121 426 0402
E: NicolaB@cofebirmingham.com


Honorary Assistant Bishops
The Rt Revd Mark Santer
The Rt Revd Maurice Sinclair

The Rt Revd Iraj Mottahedeh (T: 01952 813615)

Archdeacon of Aston
The Ven Simon Heathfield
The Church of England, 1 Colmore Row, Birmingham B3 2BJ

T: 0121 426 0428 
E: SimonH@cofebirmingham.com

Support Officer: Jenny Harris
T: 0121 426 0437 
E: JennyH@cofebirmingham.com


Archdeacon of Birmingham
The Ven. Hayward Osborne
The Church of England, 1 Colmore Row, Birmingham B3 2BJ
T: 0121 426 0441
E: Hayward@cofebirmingham.com

Support Officer: Jenny Harris
T: 0121 426 0437 
E: JennyH@cofebirmingham.com

Dean of Birmingham
The Very Revd Catherine Ogle
Birmingham Cathedral, Colmore Row, B3 2QB
T: 0121 262 1840
E: dean@birminghamcathedral.com
W: www.birminghamcathedral.com


Chancellor of the Diocese
Mark Powell QC
c/o Diocesan Registry, Shakespeare Martineau,
No. 1 Colmore Square, Birmingham B4 6AA
E: registry@shma.co.uk

Deputy Chancellor
John Edwards
c/o Diocesan Registry, Shakespeare Martineau, 

No. 1 Colmore Square, Birmingham B4 6AA
E: registry@shma.co.uk

Registrar of the Diocese 

General Enquiries: registry@shma.co.uk

Vicki Simpson
Diocesan Registry, Shakespeare Martineau,
No. 1 Colmore Square, Birmingham B4 6AA

T: 0121 214 1247
E: vicki.simpson@shma.co.uk

Deputy Registrar: Hugh Carslake
T: 0121 214 0486
E: hugh.carslake@shma.co.uk

Clerk to the Registrar: Georgina Luckman
T: 0121 214 0358 
E: Georgina.Luckman@shma.co.uk


Diocesan Secretary
Andrew Halstead
The Church of England,
1 Colmore Row, Birmingham B3 2BJ
T: 0121 426 0401
E: AndrewH@cofebirmingham.com

Support Officer: Nicola Booth
T: 0121 426 0402
E: NicolaB@cofebirmingham.com

Deaneries

(Geographical groups of parishes)

ASTON ARCHDEACONRY

Aston Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Nigel Traynor
T: 0121 373 3534
E: revnigel@yahoo.co.uk
Synod Lay Chair: Mr Geoff Miller
E: brumillers@brumillers.force9.co.uk

Coleshill Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Stuart Carter
T: 0121 748 5550
E: sccarter5867@hotmail.co.uk
Synod Lay Chair: Mrs Allannah Brennan
E: allannahpj@yahoo.co.uk

Polesworth Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Louise Shaw
T: 01827 281349
E: louiseshaw6@yahoo.co.uk

Synod Lay Chair: Mr Peter White
E: pwhite295@btinternet.com

Solihull Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Duncan Ballard
T: 01675 442339
E: duncan.ballard@me.com

Synod Lay Chair: Mrs Deirdre Moll
E: d.moll@usa.net

Sutton Coldfield Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Adrian Leahy
T: 0121 308 5315
E: revaleahy@gmail.com

Synod Lay Chair: Mrs Sheila Richmond
E: sheilaerichmond@gmail.com

Yardley & Bordesley Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Andrew Bullock
T: 0121 706 9764
E: andrewbullock2@blueyonder.co.uk
Synod Lay Chair: Mr Stephen Fraser
E: stevef_bham@sky.com


BIRMINGHAM ARCHDEACONRY

Central Birmingham Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Ian Harper
T: 0121 454 0973
E: harper-i1@sky.com
Synod Lay Chair: Mr Trevor Lewis
E: trevorlewis5@tiscali.co.uk

Edgbaston Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Priscilla White
T: 0121 427 2410
E: priscillawhite.harborne@btinternet.com
Synod Lay Chair: Mr Jonathan Goll
E: jonathan.goll@blueyonder.co.uk

Handsworth Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Philip Calvert
T: 0121 360 7288
E: frphilipcalvert@aol.com

Synod Lay Chair: Mrs Madge Bartley

Kings Norton Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Rob Fieldson 
T: 0121 447 7097
E: rob@fieldson.co.uk

Synod Lay Chair: Mrs Jenny Shardlow
E: jenny.shardlow@gmail.com

Moseley Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Catherine Grylls
T: 0121 440 2196
E: gryllsc@btinternet.com
Synod Lay Chair: Mr Tim Cuthbertson
E: timcuth@aol.com

Shirley Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Duncan Hill-Brown
T: 01564 772472
E: duncan@stphilipsandstjames.org
Synod Lay Chair: Miss Mary Minchin

Warley Deanery
Area Dean: The Revd Ian Shelton
T: 0121 559 1251
E: ianshelton232@hotmail.co.uk
Synod Lay Chair: Mr Elden Small
E: eldensmall@yahoo.co.uk

Committees, Advisers and Officers

Bishop's Council
Diocesan Mission & Pastoral Committee
Diocesan Parsonages Board

Chair: The Rt Revd David Urquhart
Secretary: Andrew Halstead
T: 0121 426 0401
E: AndrewH@cofebirmingham.com


Church Buildings and Churchyards
Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches (DAC)
(Advises the Diocesan Chancellor, and informally parishes, about changes to church buildings and contents and churchyards)
Chair: Phil Nunnerley

Secretary: Adrian Mann
T: 0121 426 0405
E: dac@cofebirmingham.com

Property Director: Daniel Mayes
T: 0121 426 0408
M: 07973 315684
E: DanielM@cofebirmingham.com

Property Support Officer: Suki Sandhu
T: 0121 426 0409
E: SukiS@cofebirmingham.com

Closed Churches 

(Dealing with future uses of buildings no longer used for worship)
Secretary: Adrian Mann
T: 0121 426 0405
E: dac@cofebirmingham.com


Clergy Spouses
Sandy Osborne
T: 0121 420 3299
E: osbornes7@btinternet.com


Communications

Director of Communications: Steve Squires
T: 0121 426 0438
E: SteveS@cofebirmingham.com

Visual Storyteller (Filmmaker/Designer): Ben Poffley
T: 0782 817 9988
E: BenP@cofebirmingham.com

Written Storyteller (Copywriting/Press): Fiona Handscomb
T: 0739 219 6920
E: FionaH@cofebirmingham.com

Assistant: Cara Butowski
T: 0121 426 0439 
E: CaraB@cofebirmingham.com


Community Regeneration and Thrive Together Birmingham 
Balsall Heath Church Centre, 100 Mary Street, Balsall Heath, Birmingham B12 9JU 
T: 0121 426 0442

Director of Community Regeneration
Fred Rattley
T: 0121 426 0440
E: FredR@cofebirmingham.com

Jo Bagby
E:JoB@cofebirmingham.com

Sarah Turner
E: SarahT@cofebirmingham.com

Jessica Foster
E: Jess@nearneighbours.com

Administration:
Debbie Browning
T: 0121 426 0442
E: DebbieB@cofebirmingham.com


Education, Schools and Academies

Diocesan Board of Education (DBE)
(Church Schools support, School Improvement, RE advice, School-Parish links, Academies development)

Chair: The Ven. Hayward Osborne
Vice-Chair: Mrs Pat Saunders

Director of Education
Sarah Smith
T: 0121 426 0419
E: SarahS@cofebirmingham.com

Assistant Director of Education
The Revd Peter French
T: 0121 426 0418
E: PeterF@cofebirmingham.com

Head of School Effectiveness
Charlotte Ward Lewis 
T: 07341 733557
E: CharlotteW@cofebirmingham.com

Religious Education Adviser
Jill Stolberg
T: 0121 426 0422
E: JillS@cofebirmingham.com

Education Support Officer
Susan Crosthwaite
T: 0121 426 0419
E: SusanC@cofebirmingham.com

Secretarial/ Administration Assistant
Rachel Raftery
T: 0121 426 0417
E: RachelR@cofebirmingham.com

Standards Committee
Chair: Mrs Jill Saunders

Curriculum and Religious Education Committee (CREC): 
Chair: The Revd Nick Parker

Governors Committee
Chair: Mrs Pat Saunders

Diocese of Birmingham Educational Trust (DBET)
(Overseeing church academies)
Chair: The Ven Hayward Osborne


Ecumenical relations
(Working with Birmingham Churches Together and promoting relations between denominations)

Diocesan Ecumenical Officer
The Revd Nick Parker
Tel: 01675 462188
Email: Nickthevicparker@btinternet.com


Environmental issues

Bishop's Adviser:
The Revd Patrick Gerard
Tel: 01564 782098
Email: Patrick@Gerard.net


Finance and Stewardship

Diocesan Board of Finance (DBF)
Finance, Investment and Properties Subcommittee (FIPS)
Chair: Phil Nunnerley
Secretary: Andrew Halstead
T: 0121 426 0401
E: AndrewH@cofebirmingham.com

Finance Officers
Melanie Crooks (Director of Finance)
T: 0121 426 0412
E: MelanieC@cofebirmingham.com

Diane Short (Diocesan Accountant)
T: 0121 426 0413
E: DianeS@cofebirmingham.com

Amanda Homer (Financial Controller and Stewardship support)
T: 0121 426 0414
E: AmandaH@cofebirmingham.com

Jenny Cherry (Finance Officer)
T: 0121 426 0404
E: JennyC@cofebirmingham.com

Patricia Allen (Finance Officer)
T: 0121 426 0423 
E: PatriciaA@cofebirmingham.com


Funeral Ministry

Bishop's Advisers:
The Revd Brian Castle (Aston Archdeaconry)
T: 0121 779 2739
E: revbcastle@aol.com

The Revd Ian Shelton (Birmingham Archdeaconry)
T: 0121 559 1251
E: ianshelton232@hotmail.co.uk


Healing and Deliverance Group

The Revd Jenny Arnold
T: 0121 422 2031
E: jenny@quintonchurch.co.uk

Housing for clergy

Property Director: Daniel Mayes
T: 0121 426 0408
M: 07973 315684
E: DanielM@cofebirmingham.com

Property Support Officer: Suki Sandhu
T: 0121 426 0409
E: SukiS@cofebirmingham.com

Human Resources

HR Director: Dr Jan Smart
T: 0121 426 0434
E: JanS@cofebirmingham.com

HR and Recruitment Support Officer: Ben Franks
T: 0121 426 0446
E: BenF@cofebirmingham.com

Interfaith Relations

Director of Interfaith Relations
Dr Andrew Smith  
T: 0121 426 0426   
E: AndrewS@cofebirmingham.com


Liturgical Advisory Group

Chair: The Revd Peter Babington
T: 0121 472 1209
E: pgbabington@gmail.com


Malawi Link

Malawi Officer and Chair of Malawi Committee
The Revd Richard Tucker
T: 0121 354 5873
E: malawiofficer@cofebirmingham.com


Mission and Transforming Church programme


Transforming Church Committee

Chair: The Rt Revd Anne Hollinghurst

Director of Mission
The Revd Rhiannon King
T: 0121 426 0420
E: RhiannonK@cofebirmingham.com

Assistant Directors of Mission:
(Including Young People, Children and Families)

Liz Dumain
T: 0121 426 0433
E: LizD@cofebirmingham.com

Ruth Hassall
T: 0121 426 0443
E: RuthH@cofebirmingham.com

Steve Squires
T: 0121 426 0438
E: SteveS@cofebirmingham.com

Transforming Church Training Development: Helena Kittle
T: 07341 733 556
E: HelenaK@cofebirmingham.com

Growing Younger Facilitators:

Damian Herbert
T: 07342 993 845
E: DamianH@cofebirmingham.com

Janet Knox
T: 07341 733 555
E: JanetK@cofebirmingham.com

Ruth Young
T: 07341 733 558
E: RuthY@cofebirmingham.com

Transforming Church Adminstrator: Helena Moss
T: 0121 426 0411
E: HelenaM@cofebirmingham.com

Bishop's Adviser for Minority Ethnic Anglicans
The Revd Joycelyn Lewis-Gregory
T: 0121 426 0444
E: JoycelynLG@cofebirmingham.com

Bishop's Adviser for Clergy Continuing Ministerial Education
The Revd Canon Mark Pryce
T: 0121 426 0429
E: MarkP@cofebirmingham.com

Bishop's Adviser for Lay Adult Education and Training
The Revd Liz Howlett
T: 0121 426 0431 
E: LizH@cofebirmingham.com

Training and Development Support Officers:

Marlyce Bryan
T: 0121 426 0448
E: MarlyceB@cofebirmingham.com

Gerald Nembhard
T: 0121 426 0429
E: GeraldN@cofebirmingham.com

Sarah Packwood
T: 0121 426 0435
E: SarahP@cofebirmingham.com

Spirituality Focus Group

Canon John Austen
For enquiries about spiritual direction
E: john@jausten.freeserve.co.uk

Diocesan Music Adviser
Mick Perrier
7 Melbury Close, Kings Heath B14 6BN
T: 0121 604 8218
E: Mick@mperrier.freeserve.co.uk

New Religious Movements

Bishop's Adviser:
The Revd Paul Cudby
T: 01564 742565
E: paul@logos.myzen.co.uk


Pastoral Care of the Clergy

Bishop's Adviser for Pastoral Care of the Clergy and their Families
Heather McCartney
T: 07970 519894
E: PastoralAdviser@cofebirmingham.com


Reader Ministry

Warden of Readers
The Revd Canon Martin Stephenson
T: 0121 777 1935
E: martin.stephenson@cantab.net

Secretary to the Birmingham Readers' Association
Mike Lynch
E: mike4jeannie@blueyonder.co.uk

Assistant Wardens
Aston Deanery: Christine Barnsley: christine.barnsley@btopenworld.com
Coleshill Deanery: Paul Raymer: ppraymer@hotmail.com
Polesworth Deanery: Carolyn Baker: mabaker99@yahoo.co.uk
Sutton Coldfield Deanery: Sheila Richmond: s.richmond@ctlconnect.co.uk
Solihull Deanery: vacant
Yardley and Bordesley Deanery: Bill Turner: billturner43@hotmail.co.uk

Central Birmingham Deanery: Ruth Cooper: rucoo@blueyonder.co.uk
Edgbaston Deanery: Ross Hayes: rosshayes.home@yahoo.co.uk
Handsworth Deanery: Peter Conabeer: pete.conabeer@blueyonder.co.uk
Kings Norton Deanery: Fay Fearon: fayfearon@yahoo.co.uk
Moseley Deanery: Simon Foster: snnfoster@gmail.com
Shirley Deanery: Kath Hawker: kathhawker@yahoo.com
Warley Deanery: Jill MacDonald: jillmac31@yahoo.co.uk

Initial Training Secretary
Juliet Bakker
T: 01675 465739
E: jabakkerb461@yahoo.com

Further details concerning reader ministry can be found on the Birmingham Readers Website: www.birminghamreaders.org


Retired Clergy

Chaplains
The Revd Barbara Fletcher
T: 0121 429 9354 
E: bfletcher@talktalk.net

Rural Issues

Bishop's Rural Officer
The Revd Stephen Banks
T: 01827 839022
E: stephen@avicarage.plus.com


Safeguarding
(Protection of Children, Young People and Vulnerable Adults)

If you have any concerns about individual cases or a person at risk, the Bishop's Advisers for Safeguarding and a team of trained Listeners can be contacted through the Bishop's Chaplain:
The Revd Kate Stowe (on maternity leave), covered by Mthr Josephine Houghton
T: 0121 427 1163
E: bishopschaplain@cofebirmingham.com

Diocesan Safeguarding Adviser: Steph Haynes
T: 07342 993844
E: StephH@cofebirmingham.com

For Safeguarding policies and guidelines, click here.

For help with safeguarding training, policies and procedures and safer recruitment contact:

Safeguarding Training & Development Officer: Claire Wesley
T: 0121 426 0432
E: ClaireW@cofebirmingham.com

Safeguarding Support Officers: 

Sarah Rose
T: 0121 426 0407
E: safeguardingsupport@cofebirmingham.com

Vocations and Ordinands

Diocesan Director of Ordinands and Dean of Women's Ministry
The Revd Canon Faith Claringbull
T: 0121 426 0445
E: ddo@cofebirmingham.com

HR and Recruitment Officer: Ben Franks
T: 0121 426 0446
E: BenF@cofebirmingham.com

Workplace Chaplaincy

Churches and Industry Group Birmingham (CIGB)
(An ecumenical charity, based in the Church of England office, coordinating workplace chaplaincy in Birmingham and Solihull, and supporting the churches in the world of work and economics)

Chair of Management Council:
The Ven Hayward Osborne

Development Director
The Revd Peter Sellick
T: 07746 299676
E: PeterS@cofebirmingham.com

Secretary: Val Dalton
T: 0121 426 0425
E: cigb@cofebirmingham.com