Church of England Schools

The Church of England - Birmingham has a wide range of church schools in five local authorities (Birmingham, Solihull, Sandwell, Warwickshire and Worcestershire). There are 42 Primary schools, 3 Infant schools, 3 Junior schools, 1 First school and 2 Secondary schools along with 2 affiliated Secondary schools. The provision ranges from small rural schools of around 100 pupils to larger schools serving urban and suburban areas.

There are a variety of structures for the church schools including voluntary controlled, voluntary aided and academies. The schools themselves are based in a variety of areas that reflect the nature of the Diocese – urban, outer-estate, sub-urban and rural, catering for pupils of all faiths and none.

The great majority of the church schools are proud of their Christian foundation and endeavour to ensure that a Christian ethos underpins the pupils’ educational experience, which includes respecting the other faiths of pupils in the school. Most have been judged to be good or outstanding in their distinctiveness and effectiveness as church schools during their Statutory Inspection of Anglican and Methodist Schools (SIAMS - formerly SIAS). Many are very popular and some are oversubscribed and so there are, annually, several appeals for admission.

  • Work In Progress

    Please bear with us while we get this part of the site up and running.

    If you have any questions for the Education Team please contact:

    Education Support Officer

    Susan Crosthwaite
    T: 0121 426 0419
    E: SusanC

  • List of schools by local authority

    We work with schools in five Local Authorities in the West Midlands: Birmingham, Sandwell, Solihull, Warwickshire and Worcestershire. Below is the list of contacts (although a new and up-to-date list will soon be available).